Happy birthday, dear Sherlock …

The Good Old Index of Questions

1.  When and how did you first encounter Sherlock Holmes?

My mom and dad gave me the full canon in an omnibus edition at Christmas the year I was in 6th grade.

2.  Please share a fact or two about yourself related to Holmes.  (You’ve read the whole canon, you’ve been to Baker Street, you’re an official BSI member, etc.)

I’ve read the whole canon and a fair amount of pastiche.

3.  What are three of your favorite Holmes adventures?

The Red-Headed League, The Empty House and The Sign of Four

4.  What draws you to the Sherlock Holmes stories?

Holmes, his friendship with Watson, the mysteries themselves (and the insight I get into Victorian England)

5.  If you were going to give Sherlock Holmes a birthday present, what would it be?

Well, tobacco worked for Watson in one of the Peter Cushing mysteries, so I’ll go with that. 🙂

6.  If you could climb into a Holmes story and replace any one character for a day, who would you like to be?

Irene Adler! 🙂

7.  Please share some of your favorite Holmes-related quotes!

Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth.

It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts.

It is quite a three pipe problem, and I beg that you won’t speak to me for fifty minutes.

“Come, Watson, come!” he cried. “The game is afoot. Not a word! Into your clothes and come!”

12 thoughts on “Happy birthday, dear Sherlock …

  1. I liked both of Nicholas Meyer’s (Seven Percent Solution, West End Horror), and there’s a Mycroft one that I really loved (Enter the Lion by Michael Hodel and Sean Wright), and there was more of a parody — the stories were written by a New York mystery writer back before I was born, and the detective in them had a name like Ashlock Homes. It’s driving me nuts — I can’t find them on Google! . I’m pretty sure I read Loren Estleman’s books, but if I did, it was a long time ago … I dimly remember liking them.

  2. Yay! Someone else picked The Red-Headed League! I love that one! I love that it’s a bank-robbing story and I really love the villain’s dialogue when he gets caught 🙂

    Well done on reading the whole canon!

  3. I love the Victorian element in the Holmes stories as well! It’s also very interesting to see the diverse choices people make in their three favorite stories 🙂

Leave a comment