A, there! Welcome! (Today’s Word: Acedia)

I’ve decided to make my A-to-Z Challenge about unusual words. Each day, I’ll write about an unusual, old or bizarre word that begins with the day’s letter.  Today, it’s ‘acedia’.

You’re familiar, of course, with the Seven Deadly Sins of the Middle Ages: Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Sloth, Wrath, Envy and Pride.  Acedia is sloth, but it implies more than simple idleness — it’s a more severe version of apathy, where you sink into such torpor that you don’t enjoy anything or do the things you should do.

Probably the best-known literary version of acedia is The Slough of Despond in John Bunyan’s Pilgrim’s Progress, where Christian sinks under the knowledge of his sin, but can’t quite seem to get around to repenting or rejoicing in the opportunity for salvation found in Christ.

I’ve been kind of in Despond a/k/a acedia myself lately, especially when it comes to writing. Looking forward to this challenge to help me pry myself loose and get back to the keyboard again.

3 thoughts on “A, there! Welcome! (Today’s Word: Acedia)

  1. Hi, I am one of your “official” visitors this month, your number being four after mine. Great theme, and I certainly learned a new word, acedia, today, I am looking forward to learning more words from your blog this month.

Leave a Reply

