Tell you the story of who I am …

Here’s the second half of the #100factsaboutme meme from Twitter.  Know you’ve been dying to read the rest! 🙂

51.            The closest I’ve come to shuffling off this mortal coil was reacting to penicillin when I was seven years old.  I went into anaphylactic shock and “died”.  They brought me back. (I’m not supposed to know that, but I saw the medical records – and I remember how it felt).

52.            I also fell through the lower half (glass) of a storm door. Fortunately the glass shattered so I didn’t get hurt.

53.            I’m a type-2 diabetic.  Hoping that will change as I get in better shape, but not sure it will. My birth dad is a diabetic and he’s in pretty good shape. Runs in the family.

54.            Between the ages of 10 and 12, I believed implicitly in the power of half-birthdays.  Was sure I would attain some super power when my half-birthday rolled around.  Yep.  I was a weird little kid.

55.            By the way, no super powers.  Just in case you were wondering.

56.            My favorite month is October … I’m one of Ray Bradbury’s Autumn people, no doubt.

57.           I don’t have a single favorite color; I prefer jewel tones, though – Amethyst, Ruby Red (dark) and Sapphire Blue.

58.            Besides writing, I like to draw.

59.            My favorite classes at school (Lakeland, when I got my graphic design degree) were Life Drawing and Art Drawing.

60.          I also loved photography.

61.          When I was at Lakeland, I entered the Lake County Communicators Apex Awards.  I won a Gold award in Photography. The photo is on my Facebook profile.

62.          I had a pony (almost horse-sized) when I was growing up. Her name was Heidi.  I didn’t name her – just want that on the record.

63.          I ride Western – could never get the hang of the English saddle. I know – shame on me.

64.          Love to roller skate and ice skate, although I haven’t done either in ages.  I think my insurance covers broken bones, so I may give it a try again. 🙂

65.          I seem to have lost the ability to run, oddly enough.

66.          Want to also try riding a bike again.

67.          The one thing I absolutely refuse to do as I get older is be afraid. My mother-in-law has a friend who refuses to eat at a particularly good restaurant because she’s afraid to drive up a small grade.

68.          That “not being afraid” thing doesn’t extend to riding a skateboard.  I couldn’t even do that when I was younger.

69.          I probably have a favorite author, but I love so many books, I don’t know how I’d ever pick just one.

70.          Crocheting comes easily to me. I’ve made an afghan, vests, scarves and things like that.

71.          I can’t knit.

72.          But I do quilt.

73.          Although I hate cutting out all the little pieces.  I don’t mind sewing a quilt and I’d probably make more if I could find someone to do the cutting.

74.          I’d rather cook for myself than go out to eat. Even if someone else is paying.

75.          I was briefly a police dispatcher.  Only I don’t do midnight shifts well.  I’m strictly diurnal.

76.          Also worked in the newsroom of the local ABC affiliate, doing computer support and maintaining the morgue.

77.          Not THAT kind of morgue – I was in charge of storing scripts for future reference.

78.          The longest I’ve held a job continuously was 7 years.

79.          I’m really proud that my adopted dad was a TEC4 in the Signal Corps in WWII (European Theatre of Operations). That’s where my handle/netnic/callsign comes from.

80.          I’m also proud that my birth father has been instrumental in conserving a large part of his native state as a national park.  He’d be the first to say that he didn’t do it alone, but I’m still very proud of him.

81.          I wanted to be President once.  Sorry.

82.          Went through a stretch where I thought I wanted to be a cop.

83.          When I was at Kent State in the 70s, I thought I wanted to be a lawyer.

84.          Now, I have no idea what I want to be when I grow up.  If I ever do.

85.          I used to sing in the choir/praise team of the church I formerly attended.

86.          Collected stamps once.

87.          I was a Girl Scout from Brownies all the way to Cadettes.

88.          Once I had a crush on Donny Osmond.  That explains why I like purple.

89.          I am also a Cleveland Browns fan.

90.          Not much of a Cavs fan. Liked to play basketball, but not interested in watching.

91.          Have used and will use both PCs and Macs.  I think the rivalry is silly.

92.          Also use both Facebook (Janet Lingel Aldrich) and Twitter (@TEC4_Cleveland).  Similarly silly rivalry.

93.          I design web pages &  have three blogs and a website.

94.          I think Pierre Jalbert should be in the Canadian Ski Museum/Hall of Fame and would mount a campaign on his behalf if he’d let me.

95.          My recent bout of writing is the first I’ve done (outside of high school) since the 1980s.

96.          I usually don’t drink on account of being a diabetic.

97.          Like wine, but while I like the smell of beer, I don’t like how it tastes.

98.          I found my favorite Web acquaintance (whom I’ve never actually met) because I was searching for something else and he came up.

99.          My favorite current Hab is Tomas Plekanec. (No! I’ll bet you had no idea!)

100.       I want to live in Montreal some day.

Leave a Reply

