Seasons Change …

There is allegedly a Chinese curse that goes “May you live in interesting times.” Now, I always thought that was an odd thing to be a curse. Or at least I did until the last couple of months.

My thought was that life now is like being tossed in a rock tumbler. What I guess I have to remember is that while rocks are being tumbled, they’re being polished and perfected. Pieces get chipped away, rough edges smoothed. That’s what’s happening to me now.

There’s the work thing. But while being short of money is no treat, I think the end result of all the interviews will be good. Right now, my alternatives are two jobs: one is in my comfort zone, and would pay about the same as what I made before. The other would stretch me and add to my professional skills, as well as paying better. But I almost have to think about taking the first offer (unless there are real warning bells, like the ones I ignored last time). You don’t know if there is going to be a second offer. And I know that one of the employers is in a hurry to bring someone in.

Finally, there are some dreams I have cherished. I know now that at least one of them is NEVER going to happen. One is an awful longshot. And the other — I don’t know if it’s possible or not. Some days I think there’s a chance. Other days, I’m sure it’s as dead as the others. I need dreams to avoid the uglier parts of my real life. That’s a fact. When all the dreams die, where do I go? Some days, I just want to open the tumbler door and get out. Sigh. Well, whatever.

I still want to write. I’ve been practicing with #FridayFlash length work. I have two other stories I’m working on and a new novel length idea. I may hold onto that for Nano this year. Maybe that’s the dream I get for right now. It’s not the worst one I could have.

Leave a Reply

