Bony Maroni …

Well, I’m not exactly there YET … (and probably never will be, genetics and all that being what it is) but I’m getting closer. At least a little. 🙂

I’ve swung around to doing an equal amount of cardio and weight-lifting. I was tickled Monday that I was able to move up to 15 lb. dumbbells to do the flys and presses I had been doing with 10 lbs. before. If you’re in better shape than I am, 15 lbs. may not sound like much, but after supersetting flys and presses, alternating 15, 15, 12, 12, 10, 10, 15 pounds feels like 50. And considering I started out with 5 lbs., I consider 15 to be progress. Also, I went from 20 to 30 pounds when I do triceps (flat barbell presses and skullcrushers). Those I’ve been able to do in 3 straight sets of 15. I guess I need to thank the Group Power teachers for that.

My new addiction is protein water — protein powder in water. Considering my company is owned by a NCAA championship wrestler who stays in good shape, we sure do seem to keep a lot of bad snack stuff (pub mix, animal crackers and pretzels) around — not to mention the candy bars the one secretary is selling in the lunch room. Drinking the water at work does seem to kill the cravings to nibble.

I’m not going to weigh in until the 1st of July. Then I have 21 days to try to make a big difference, before I leave for Calicon.

By the way, I was at my mother-in-law’s for the first time in awhile, and I saw the 8×10 of the picture Tom and I had taken for the church directory. Whew! If I had any doubts about how far I’ve come, that dispelled them in a hurry. I may ask Tom, the next time we are there, to take a picture of me holding that picture and if I do, I’ll post it here.

On Rhapsody: “M’Appel Fou” by Clifton Chenier
3 thoughts on “Bony Maroni …

  1. TEC4 says:

    Thanks! I joined a Classical Fencing group on Facebook today. I’ve (once again) decided that if I can find a good salle d’armes in a convenient location (especially now that I’ve lost weight and will find it easier to buy fencing clothes), I’m going to start up in the Fall. Just think, if we do wind up in Quebec City next year, what a neat, romantic place for a swordfight. Guard yourself for true! 🙂

    • Ooh! Exciting! You know I fence, right? Have all my own equipment, etc. Fencing is so much fun. I actually haven’t fenced in a few years now, but man would I love to get back into fencing regularly.

Leave a Reply

