Big Girls Don’t Cry …

There’s an article on the front of WordPress from another blog about the war between people who think they should exercise to be thin and those who exercise to get more healthy. I find myself torn between the two; on one hand, I haven’t lost a lot of weight, but on the other hand, I’m losing inches and my endurance has increased significantly.

I have been told by lots of people, from the trainers at Fitworks to the guys in Vitamin Shoppe to total strangers who have overheard conversations that this is a good thing, and I can’t disagree. One friend has told me to toss the scale, that as long as I’m seeing results, getting hung up on the numbers means I’m going to get discouraged and be more likely to quit. Can’t disagree with that either.

But I still know that it can’t be healthy to weigh as much as I do, increased muscle mass and endurance notwithstanding. And yes, whether I weigh myself once a week or once a month, to put all that effort into exercise and not see the scale change — and we’re talking since July, if you count the walking I did last summer, or October, if you’re thinking Fitworks — makes me wonder what I’m doing wrong.

This week, I’ve once again rededicated myself to eating right. I’m trying to stay between 1400 and 1600 calories. I’m putting more effort into my workouts and trying different things so I’m not in a rut. And come Saturday morning (hey! I think that’s a song cue! Where are the Sandpipers?), I hope that when I step on the scale first thing, I’ll see at least a little improvement.

Or I may cry, no matter what the Four Seasons say …

On Rhapsody, “Helplessly Hoping”, CSNY
4 thoughts on “Big Girls Don’t Cry …

  1. TG says:

    Sounds like you should just keep doing what you’re doing! I’d take physical fitness over weight, but I’m also a skinny-minnie with a different set of weight problems. I also cut wheat out of my diet, which makes taking in enough calories in a day even more difficult (but would probably be good for you who’s trying to limit intake!) 😀

  2. TEC4 says:

    One of my issues is avoiding unopposed carbs, so I have cut back on breads, etc., but it’s mostly not eating white flour and having whole grain stuff. For instance, one of my lunches is a Veggieburger on an Ezekiel Bread english muffin with Dijon Mustard and tomatoes, etc.

  3. TG says:

    Mmm, that sounds good. There was some Ezekiel wheat bread I was eating before I had to cut out wheat that I really liked. Made great toast. Very tasty stuff.

Leave a Reply

