When they own the information, they can bend it all they want …

I watched the news for the first time in a long time. The national news, I mean, not the local variety. (Not that the local variety is all that special either.) I haven’t missed much.

I’ve been trying to track down a quote by C.S. Lewis that I thought I remembered from “Surprised by Joy” where I believe he mentioned that he lost a lot of anxiety by not spending a lot of time reading newspapers and listening to the radio. I’d have to agree with that. I can make a pass at a couple of websites every day and have some idea of whether or not something is going on that I need to know about. The rest of it … Oh, I get so sick of the tabloid nonsense! What do Paris Hilton and her ilk have to do with me? Why do I care who “The Bachelor” wound up with? Or about that poisonous couple (Kate and Jon, I think?) whose every move for months was followed by the rags on the grocery rack?

I lost a lot of respect for the ‘mainstream media’ a long time ago. Even when I was a lot younger, I could see the manipulation and I never understood why more people weren’t aware.

I’m sure I sound very cynical, and I’m sorry. I guess when it comes to this issue, I am just that.

On my Sansa: “Moment of Surrender”, U2
Leave a Reply

