What have you done for me lately …

Well, what my employer did is give me the next week off with pay.

I was trying to finish up the two proposals I had left on my current job. We had put the one up on the FTP site for the lead architect and my boss told me that since both she and the HR person had to be out next week, we would have to do the exit interview today (Friday). So we went up, went over all the insurance and 401(k) and payroll/vacation stuff and then …

“Since we’re going to be out next week so much and there won’t be anything next week, we’re giving you the week off — with pay. That way you’ll get to kind of, you know, destress, before you start the new job.”

Instant shock on my part.

Now don’t get me wrong. It was an incredibly generous gesture, well meant. But I feel kind of, well, abandoned, if you catch my drift. It’s not as though I don’t have anything to do at home; I need to do a lot of cleaning, if nothing else. Or, I have two other stories that are just ideas in my head right now that I could get drafts done of. But I never take long vacations from work because I’m not comfortable with a lot of downtime, for whatever reason.

So I know you will think I’m nuts, but I kind of wish they hadn’t, on a lot of levels. Since they did, though, I’ll try to make the best of it. (Yeah, I know. Poor, poor pitiful me … [bg])

3 thoughts on “What have you done for me lately …

  1. TG says:

    I think that’s kind of neat, though, even if it does mean you’ve been set adrift. But then, free time is so valuable, I’d snatch it up fast!

  2. TEC4 says:

    Oh, I am. I got your e-mail about the contest story and I sent back an answer — I’m trying hard to think my way through Paul’s motivation and how to express it better.

    Plus I started another story (“Running the Courir”). Someone I know wondered what happened to Caje after he left Kirby in “Silver Service”. I asked Tom, who knows WWII pretty well, some questions and I think I have a good plot.

    So it’s not all a loss! 🙂

Leave a Reply

