Food, glorious food!

I was pretty good this weekend, but I was (unfortunately) aided by a 24-hour bug that hit on the morning after Christmas, wherein I couldn’t keep anything down. So even though I was good at Christmas dinner, I was (yecch) even better the next day. Moi, je suis chanceuse!

On the other hand, I couldn’t resist doing an unofficial weigh-in today (it won’t ‘count’ until next Monday), this time actually wearing my glasses so I could see the numbers better, and I was right. I was down as far as I thought I was, oh, frabjous day! Calloo! Callay!

Unfortunately, someone put out some holiday leftovers here at work and I had one. I guess since it was just one, for once, I don’t feel too bad about it. It was, however, a miniature peppermint torte. For the record, tort in French means ‘wrong’ — as in “It was wrong of me to eat that torte.” (Yes, I know it’s two different words; kindly refrain from stepping all over my bad puns, please!) šŸ™‚

And now I have just finished looking out the window — the forecast was for light snow which was supposed to clear by mid-to-late afternoon. I can’t see the building across the street for all the snowfall. Is there anything more futile than weather prediction?

2 thoughts on “Food, glorious food!

  1. You know, I’ve always wondered if tort and torte were related.

    I was a very bad person over Christmas and ate much more sugar-laden food than is good for me or the baby. Expecting to get scolded by my midwife on Friday.

    • TEC4 says:

      I honestly don’t see how you can avoid it this time of year. I try so hard to stay away from the stuff, because I know once I get started, I can’t stop! Here’s hoping your midwife won’t yell at you too hard!

Leave a Reply

