You don’t know how lucky you are, boy …

The first story that came up today on Yahoo’s list of news was about the election violence in the Phillippines. I glimpsed the story the other day, but didn’t really read through until it came up again this morning.

There are a lot of things wrong in America; I don’t think the staunchest patriot going would deny it. But no matter how angry we get at those on the opposite end of our political spectrum, we go to the polls, we vote, and while we may dispute the results (and do, frequently, one way or the other), when all is said and done, we live with the people who win and wait for our turn next time. I suppose that if there was truly a major problem, we might resort to physical action, but mostly we listen and talk and dispute (mostly) peaceably.

I’m thankful for a lot of things as we get close to Thanksgiving, (actually, I’m thankful even when Thanksgiving is 359 days away); one of them is that I live in this country, with all its faults. I do know how lucky (blessed, to be more accurate) I am, back in the US!

Leave a Reply

