… It took me years to write, will you take a look?

Well, I’m back to not writing Last Full Measure. I mean, I haven’t given up on it or anything, it’s just not coming well. Just because. It’s very frustrating.

BUT! I did manage to knock off the first draft of a 3,500-4,000 word short story. Caje graduates from college and then he and Theo enlist. Denis is NOT a happy camper. Although I realized that I (may) have to go and fix the almost-ending, because one of the few canon things we know about Caje is that his parents saw him off. At the train. I sent them off with Grandpapa, Nonc Pierre and Marcel (with a quick appearance by Helene). At the bus. (*le sigh*) Unless he got a short leave before leaving for Europe and THEN his folks saw him off at the train. Hmmm. Have to think about that and do a little more research on whether once you finished basic you got time to go home before being deployed. How ’bout that? Any WWII experts on the ETO out there?

I also had a neat encouter (via email) with a lady who is a college professor and Cajun, who did a paper (which she e-mailed to me since I couldn’t find it on the ‘Net) on the Cajun soldier in WWII. I have already found a short story idea in it, along with lots o’ neat plot points which I figure will come in handy as I progress in the GA universe. Besides, she also offered to answer questions if I had any as I go along. I’m sooew heppy! (from Robin Hood: Men in Tights)

On the Sansa: “In Her Eyes” by Josh Groban
Leave a Reply

