Nous vivons ensemble …

In the course of learning any new language, the real breakthrough comes when you start thinking in it.

On my way to the gym the other night, I was trying to come up with French lyrics for Josh Groban’s In Her Eyes (or at least the chorus) when I stopped for gas. I went into the little store to prepay and suddenly realized I was within the length of a synapse from saying “cinq en sept, s’il vous plait” instead of “five on seven, please” to the guy who was behind the cash register. I can’t exactly say this ranks up there with “Je pense, donc je suis” or “La coeur a ses raisons, que la raison ne connait point”, but it was cool to realize that I’m starting to internalize the language a little. Bon pour moi, non?

Superklutz alert: I tripped over a bag in the living room on the way out the door yesterday and did something to my Achilles officially. I’m now in a half-cast and on crutches at least temporarily while it’s determined if it’s just a strain or if it’s ruptured. Lucky me. 😦

Leave a Reply

