A Joy to be of Service

I have a hard time contributing as much to others as I’d like to.  We just get by, and sometimes we don’t, without help from others ourselves.  So when I get to be of help to others, in whatever small way, it’s a joy to me.

I got an e-mail in response to one of mine from the moderator of one of the Combat! groups I’m part of, about the stories for the ‘zine.  She said, at the end, that she hoped we were well, and that things were about as good as they could be on her end.  I wrote her back and told her that I was a good listener, and if she needed to talk or needed prayers, I’d be glad to help.  This morning, she wrote back to me and asked for prayers for a situation in her life and family.  So I prayed.

I’m not posting this to show what a great person I am.  I know I’m not.  But it may help you, if, like me, you don’t have a lot to offer in the way of worldly possessions, to know that having time for prayer for others, or to come alongside them, even in a small way, can be as special as a large contribution to charity.  Maybe more so.

C.S. Lewis said (in Mere Christianity, IIRC): “Every Christian is to become a little Christ.”  Lord Jesus said: “Come unto Me, all ye who labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” (Mt 11:28).  If we are to become like Him, we ought to do what we can to help those around us who are “heavy laden”.  We can’t give them rest ourselves, but we can point the way to the One who can.  And in the meantime, we can love them as we are commanded to do.  And that is our joy.

Playing on the Sansa: “It is You”, by The Newsboys

Leave a comment